I recently contributed to #notinournames with this:

Due to my strong Scandinavian ethnic identity, the issue of white supremacists appropriating my heritage and my body is an issue I’m painfully familiar with.

By the way, there are two 14 words slogans:

We must secure the existence of our people and a future for White Children.

Because the beauty of the White Aryan woman must not perish from the earth.

The whole point of the #notinournames tag is that the recent shooting is about race and not about women (or religion for that matter). The people trying to pretend it’s about “protecting” white women are white supremacists – and they have been doing this for a very long time.

There is a concern that speaking about this issue at this time threatens to be counter-productive by centering the voices of white people when that is the last thing that should be happening. The alternative, however, appears to be sitting on our hands and allowing this to continue without direct challenge.

Speaking out is better than *crickets* and many members of the black community are continuing to support white women speaking out on this topic – including people I very deeply respect.

If they tell me to STFU and STFD – I will.

Otherwise, I’m going to continue to speak out against white supremacists who have for decades fetishized people who look like me.  They have appropriated the religion of my ancestors as well as the religion of my parents. They throw around their 14-words like they are fighting on my behalf.  They do this while standing on a legacy that includes occupying my country of origin and making war-babies for the master race with the “good breeding stock”.

This is an issue that means something to me.  I’m not just putting on a show. It is important that I continue to repudiate them – because THEY are the ones placing me front and center.

However, if today or tomorrow TV screens are lit-up with white feminist faces talking about white supremacy as if WE are the primary stake holders – as if WE are the one’s aggrieved – as if WE can shrug off our whiteness with a simple statement #notinournames?

We CANNOT let that happen, but that does not mean we should remain silent.

It is a time to speak out.

It is always a time to speak out.

However, the message must always be clear: #blacklivesmatter

