Tags

, ,

Shock surprise, some prominent people in the atheist/skeptic movement are acting like jerks.

The events at the Secular Policy Institute are especially galling, as they involve consent. As Hemant Metha found,

Daniel Dennett in particular told me he asked to be removed from their list after learning that Rogers had filed a lawsuit against the Secular Coalition for America (which made some damning allegations about the SCA and several people associated with it).

Not only did Dennett inform many of the other Fellows why he was leaving (prompting them to do the same), here’s the most shocking part of what he told me:

I didn’t know I was a Fellow of SPI until I saw my picture and name on the website.

Richard Dawkins — who is the subject of one of the damning accusations in Rogers’ lawsuit — said that he requested to be taken off the list after hearing from Dennett.

He also told me, “I have no recollection of how I [came] to be on the list in the first place.”

And yet people fight so hard to keep feminism out of atheism, despite (or perhaps because) so many don’t grok consent. Oh well, it does mean I owe an apology to our Thought Leaders for thinking they thought of themselves as “thought leaders.” My bad.

Also, bad on Edwina Roger’s part too. She may have poached some text from the organization she was once part of, she’s threatening bloggers who talk about the situation, and then there’s this mess.

Still, it could be worse.

Sir, Along with many others, I didn’t like Sir Tim Hunt’s joke, but “disproportionate” would be a huge underestimate of the baying witch-hunt that it unleashed among our academic thought police: nothing less than a feeding frenzy of mob-rule self-righteousness.

OH NOEZ, THE WIMMIN FOLK MADE FUN OF THE OLD PROFESSOR AND NOWS HE HAS A SAD. Cripes, does anyone remember the days when witch hunts involved death and murder and terror, rather than posting signs to mock the idea that women are too disruptive for the laboratory?

Via @ShitAcademicsSay on Twiter, original author unknown.I remember the good ol’ days, when feisty Richard Dawkins took pride in borrowing the idea of “consciousness raising” from the feminist movement; now, he’s a dinosaur defending dinosaurs, wheezing at all the ungrateful women who don’t understand how much of a feminist he is.

