So, today I did an interview with Swirl Radio about Cathy Brennan.  I was granted the interview because I wrote the petition.  My goal was to go on the show to be an example of opposition to her brand of feminism by a cisgender feminist.

Michelle Meow was great and it was a real learning experience for me.  I’ve done a few panels here and there, but mostly I’m behind a computer typing.  I write.  That’s what I’m most comfortable with.

If I had to do it over again, I’d certainly do a lot of things differently.  The only complaint I have is that I got the questions only about two hours a head of time; I had some notes but I really didn’t have a lot of time to think things through.

I should have done a lot more homework coming in, and that’s my fault:  I should have familiarized myself with the show more.  I should have re-listened to Cathy Brennan’s interview and taken notes about that.  I should have re-read a few things before going in.  I should have given myself the time to consult with others about what I should and should not say about Brennans’ websites; since there is an ethical balance between exposing Brennan and giving her publications more visibility.  (I tend to take other’s lead when blogging, but this was for a different platform.)

I probably should have had a beer instead of a coffee.

My biggest regret though, is that I didn’t negotiate the questions.  Michelle asked me, in a few different ways, to talk about the impact that Brennan has; and I could have fielded that question better by saying it was not a good question for me to answer.  I knew if I answered that question, I would run the risk of presuming to talk FOR or even OVER the trans folks that are most directly effected by Brennan’s actions.  (Doing the interview at all, ran that risk.)  Since I didn’t want to do that, I ended up sort of dodging the question in new and interesting ways, which was *bletch*.

However, I know that Michelle also interviewed Dana Taylor, so I’m positive that got covered!

There were a few times in the interview where I don’t think I expressed myself very well and got a bit discombobulated.  I tend to process what I hear very slowly and many times need people to repeat what they say.  It’s a *thing* due to my brain’s desire to hyper-analyze everything + I have mild attention-issues.  So, when Michelle talked about people without internet access, I was oddly perplexed.  I wasn’t completely clear all the time either.  For example, when I explained to Michelle that listening to the interview with Brennan made me want to tear my hair out, I didn’t explain why.  It wasn’t just that Brennan was on the show in the first place, but that Brennan is a very slick talker.  So, understandably Michelle defended the show, answering the people who were angry that she had given Brennan a platform.  Truly, I have mixed feelings myself.

So, I’m not really happy with how I did.  I tend to be very self-critical, so perhaps I’m not giving myself enough credit.

However, this is something I need to get better at.  If I’m going to be effective in activism, beyond writing, I’m going to have to learn to talk more confidently, collect my thoughts well, and to be articulate and concise.  This should help me in my professional life as well.

Most of all though: I’m going to have to come to terms with life uneditable.

[Update!]

The show is available now!  Ironic how I said “uneditable” when the Swirl Radio team did a great job of editing!!

I think it turned out pretty good.  It’s definitely worth a listen.

 

My full interview:

 

Dana’s full interview:

